“Hey chick, I’m home. What movie do you fancy watching tonight?” Throwing my coat and bag on my bed, I started to get changed. “We’re in here, Katie, you have company.” Company?? What the hell is she talking about? Walking into the living room, there they were, April, Amelia, and Vincent. What the hell did he think he was doing here. He knows the rules, no turning up unannounced and even more importantly, no meeting my family. “What’s going on guys?” I tried to play it cool but it was obvious from my tone of voice that I was surprised. “Well, I was talking to Amelia about our girls night in and I thought, hey, why not invite her to come and join us? After all, you guys seemed to get on well at the party.” Vincent looked down, he knew what I really meant with my question. “That’s cool, I don’t mind about that. I was actually talking to Vincent. Can we talk in private?” Vincent stood up right away and turned to April and Amelia. “It was really nice to meet you both.” Turning on his heels, Vincent started heading for my room. “He seems nice, Katie. Where have you been hiding him all this time?” This is exactly what I was dreading, all the questions. My non-relationship was meant to be stress-free. “I’ll explain later,” I said before turning to join Vincent in my room.

“What do you think you are doing?” I am absolutely furious with Vincent, I can’t believe he would break the rules like this. “What do you mean?” Vincent is clearly playing dumb. “Oh don’t give me that crap, you know the rules. I told you that we were are doing is just light and casual. No meeting the family, remember?” I was starting to feel a little harsh for shouting at him but this wasn’t the first time he tried to break ‘the rules’. “Katie, can we please just sit and talk, I’m sorry, ok. It’s just that I was in the area, we hadn’t spoken in a couple of days and I really wanted to see you. I need to talk to you about something.” Feeling a bit guilty, I decided to hear him out. As we both sat on the edge of my bed, he took my hand. “What are you doing?” I started to get a dreadful feeling in the pit of my stomach. I had a funny feeling I knew what he was going to say but I was really hoping that I was wrong. “Katie, I have been thinking a lot recently and I think, no I know, that I would like to take you out on a date.” Yep, I was right, this is probably the worst thing he could say to me right now. “Things are going well as they are, why would you want to change that?” Please don’t change things, why can’t I just live an uncomplicated life? I like things to be simple. “Will you think about it at least? I want to take you on a real date. I want us to be able to go out in public together. I really like you and I think you really like me.” Oh Jesus, what are we, teenagers? I don’t have the patience for this romance stuff. It’s really not me. Just as I went to speak again, Vincent put his finger to my lips. “Like I said, just think about it. You can’t keep shutting everyone out, eventually, you’re going to let someone into that heart of yours. I do hope it’s me but just know that I won’t be waiting forever.” With that, Vincent gently kissed me on the lips before standing to leave. Slowly walking to the door, he turned to face me again and gave me a half smile. My god, he is gorgeous. I feel really bad but, oh I don’t know. “I’ll speak to you later, Katie. Just call me in a few days once you have had a chance to think about it.” Vincent left, still sitting on my bed I feel completely deflated of all energy. What is wrong with me? Why can’t I let anyone in? Taking a deep breath, I try to relax. Maybe I should take a few moments before joining the girls for our night in.

Katie Xxx

